Many of us use the Facebook Memories function to know which of our embarrassing old posts to hide and/or delete – but now, there’s an even better solution. Facebook has introduced a bulk post archiver to make it significantly easier to get rid of those cringy posts that you made in the early days of the platform when you were an indiscreet teenager (or adult!).
Facebook’s official announcement explains:
Whether you’re entering the job market after college or moving on from an old relationship, we know things change in people’s lives, and we want to make it easy for you to curate your presence on Facebook to more accurately reflect who you are today. That’s why we’re launching Manage Activity to help you archive or trash old posts, all in one place.
Facebook gives users a solution in this area that other social platform Twitter has yet to provide, which would be especially helpful with the recent trend of digging up old Tweets in an attempt to “cancel” public voices.
How does it work?
The Manage Activity feature allows you to filter content by certain users and date range, then gives you the option to either archive content so only you can view it, or send it to the trash. If you change your mind, you can recover posts for up to thirty days.
The function is launching first on mobile and will soon be available for desktop as well. To use the tool, first select “Activity Log,” then “Manage Activity,” and finally “Your posts.”